THE BASICS

A brief (or quite lengthy) autobiography can go in the center column of this page. You may want to insert a photo or two in this side column. You can also insert photos in the center column.

If you're inserting a lengthy biography, you should probably do it with several consecutive text boxes. This will make editing easier and will allow you to have occasional bold headers separating the text.

To use several text boxes, simply click the "Add text" box at the top of the center column. (You must be in Edit Mode to see that box.) Insert your first few paragraphs and save. Then click the "Add text" box again for your next block of text.

You can then position the text with the little arrows that appear in the blue boxes directly above the text.

Add headers with the "Add header" box and position them in the same way.

This information also appears in the Help section in the toolbar at the top of the page. Delete this entire entry by clicking the small blue "Delete" box that appears directly above this entry when you're in Edit Mode.

Renaming Sections


If you've already included all the bio you want on your home page, then this page can be used for something else. Simply rename it.

To rename this or any page, click the "Edit menu" box directly above the navigation bar (the navigation bar says "Home, My Works, Biography, etc." on it). You must be in Edit Mode to see the "Edit menu" box. Enter a new name for the section and save it.

While you're editing the menu, you may want to hide sections that you're not yet using.

To complete the renaming of this section, click the "Edit page title" box in the center column of this page.

Biography

This space is intended for an autobiography.

Selected Works

Human Rights
"The psychiatric metanarrative about TIs is yet another example of the mental health professions’ historical subordination of the quest for truth to financial exigencies, and to their own social mandate to control and correct those who deviate from dominant social norms... "--Farber "We stand today on the tip of a revolution with the new knowledge of remote influencing technologies capable of manipulating the human body and human brain. ..Who will speak today on behalf of all humanity? Who will step forward to prosecute and terminate ALL non-consensual human experimentation ongoing today? "
e.g. Fiction, History, Magazine Articles, etc. goes here
This revolutionary book tells how the Mad Pride movement developed in the last ten years as the successor to the mental patients’ liberation movement. It includes a Foreword by Kate Millett and interviews with David Oaks, Sascha DuBrul (The Icarus Project), Dr Peter Stastny and Paul Levy, author of Wetiko. Drawing upon the work of theorists like Thomas Szasz, John Weir Perry and R.D. Laing Farber shows how the mad can embrace their “mad gifts” in order to help the long awaited global spiritual transition.
Nonfiction
A work in the tradition of Thomas Szasz, R.D. Laing, Michel Foucault and Erving Goffman, a challenge to the delusional belief-system known as psychiatry; and a protest against its appalling crimes. Foreword by Thomas Szasz
The contributors are among the leading American Jewish critics of Zionism and of Israel's policies towards the Palestinians: Noam Chomsky, Norman Finkelstein, Marc Ellis, Adam Shapiro, Phyllis Bennis, Rabbi Weiss and 6 others.
A critique of psychoanalysis and the medical model model of psychology as a form of secularized Augustinianism. Augustinianism, with its insistence on predestination and eternal damnation, was an inversion of the original Christian teaching of human freedom to respond to infinite grace and the promise of universal salvation.
"An important book."
--Thomas Szasz, M.D., Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, State University of New York Health Science Center; author of The Myth of Mental Illness
(Click on title above to read excerpt from book.)
Excerpt (slightly altered) from essay in Review of Existential Psychology and Psychiatry (2001, 25th Anniversary Issue) "Against Psychotherapy and Biological Psychiatry"
This is a modern Bildungsroman by a maverick psychologist who is determined to change the world, find his soul mate and prove the soteriological power of madness and of love. He is haunted by a vision–a archetypal memory–of our lost paradise Like the creative misfits and (official) lunatics he befriends, and the mad women with whom he falls in love in this bewitching book-- which is alternately funny, tragic, and intellectually provocative-- he is never fully at home here, except for the ephemeral times when he has found true love. Farber’s peak experiences and his reading of modern mystics like Sri Aurobindo and Vladimir Solovyov, and gerontologists (like Aubrey De Grey) convince him that humanity is destined to attain eternal love and physical immortality-- paradise. It is testimony to Farber’s power as a writer that he is able to make his unusual vision, incredible as it is, seem as if it is just within the reach of humanity.
Human Rights Movement
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry is an organization comprised of psychotherapists (including psychiatrists), survivors of psychiatric incarceration (commonly known as "mental patients"), scholars and other concerned citizens.

Phone contact

Find Authors