Seth Farber, Ph.D.

Eternal Day ( Regina Press, 1998)

Dr Farber argues that the archetype of the flawed soul tainted by original sin underlies the contemporary concept of "mental illness" or psychopathology. Classical and modern psychoanalytical theories constitute a secularized version of the Augustinian pseudo-Christian narrative of sin and damnation. Thus Freud's claim to have liberated psychology from religious superstition is spurious. Biological psychiatry like Freudianism claims to have finally freed itself from superstition--Farber debunks this claim. As an alternative to the misanthropic anthropology that underlies over two centuries of psychology and psychiatry, Farber elaborates a Christian humanist metanarrative based on reverence for humanity and all creation -- a narrative rooted in faith in the divine promise (Isaiah, Jesus) of infinite love and immortal life.

Selected Works

Human Rights
"The psychiatric metanarrative about TIs is yet another example of the mental health professions’ historical subordination of the quest for truth to financial exigencies, and to their own social mandate to control and correct those who deviate from dominant social norms... "--Farber "We stand today on the tip of a revolution with the new knowledge of remote influencing technologies capable of manipulating the human body and human brain. ..Who will speak today on behalf of all humanity? Who will step forward to prosecute and terminate ALL non-consensual human experimentation ongoing today? "
e.g. Fiction, History, Magazine Articles, etc. goes here
This revolutionary book tells how the Mad Pride movement developed in the last ten years as the successor to the mental patients’ liberation movement. It includes a Foreword by Kate Millett and interviews with David Oaks, Sascha DuBrul (The Icarus Project), Dr Peter Stastny and Paul Levy, author of Wetiko. Drawing upon the work of theorists like Thomas Szasz, John Weir Perry and R.D. Laing Farber shows how the mad can embrace their “mad gifts” in order to help the long awaited global spiritual transition.
Nonfiction
A work in the tradition of Thomas Szasz, R.D. Laing, Michel Foucault and Erving Goffman, a challenge to the delusional belief-system known as psychiatry; and a protest against its appalling crimes. Foreword by Thomas Szasz
The contributors are among the leading American Jewish critics of Zionism and of Israel's policies towards the Palestinians: Noam Chomsky, Norman Finkelstein, Marc Ellis, Adam Shapiro, Phyllis Bennis, Rabbi Weiss and 6 others.
A critique of psychoanalysis and the medical model model of psychology as a form of secularized Augustinianism. Augustinianism, with its insistence on predestination and eternal damnation, was an inversion of the original Christian teaching of human freedom to respond to infinite grace and the promise of universal salvation.
"An important book."
--Thomas Szasz, M.D., Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, State University of New York Health Science Center; author of The Myth of Mental Illness
(Click on title above to read excerpt from book.)
Excerpt (slightly altered) from essay in Review of Existential Psychology and Psychiatry (2001, 25th Anniversary Issue) "Against Psychotherapy and Biological Psychiatry"
Articles
(Published by Free Deion Harris Association -- see article for contact information.)
Pending memoir. Non-fiction.
After years of practicing therapy,Dr Farber-- a psychologist in the tradition of his hero, radical psychiatrist R.D. Laing-- concludes that mental illness is a myth and that "schizophrenics," although often troubled, are the vanguard of a cultural revolution. Farber falls in love with Carla, and a few years later with Lily, both "schizophrenics." (Neither were patients of his.) These two crazy women are so intelligent and charismatic that their personalities burst through the stereotype of "mental illness." Farber talks to crazy people in their own language. Psychiatrists call it "schizophrenese" but Farber calls it the language of dreams, of poetry, of magic. Farber's dogged romantic persistence makes us wonder whether he is a brilliant visionary or a crackpot himself--or both. This is an inspiring story, profound in its implications--it is an affirmation of a vision of life beyond the dichotomies of sanity and insanity as we know them.
Human Rights Movement
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry is an organization comprised of psychotherapists (including psychiatrists), survivors of psychiatric incarceration (commonly known as "mental patients"), scholars and other concerned citizens.

Phone contact

Find Authors