Lunching with Lunatics: Memoirs of a Renegade Psychologist

EXCERPT from INTRODUCTION
"Before I explain, let me mention a discovery I made just a few month ago. I discovered that there are quite a few gerontologists on the leading edge of science who believe we are on the verge of being able to stop or reverse aging. Aubrey De Grey, the gerontologist with the most salient public profile, claims we can achieve virtual immortality this century--one might add if we don't destroy ourselves first.Gerontologists realize that we do not have to die, death is is not part of the inalterable nature of things, it is not the result of a natural law, it is not inevitable, death is a contingency. The fact that through science secular persons are reaching the conclusion--that we (as human beings) do not have to die-- that Sri Aurobindo and the Mother reached through mystical experiences, is another indication that we are dealing with an idea that is now emerging from the depths of our collective unconscious and seeking realization in the world–we are reaching a epochal turning point in our spiritual evolution...

But the point I want to emphasize here is the remarkable fact that scientists today are seeking the same goal as humanity’s messianic prophets and seers–eternal life. Thus the opportunity to realize our messianic vision, to transform our ancient “memory” of paradise into reality, has never been so great. (Nor has humanity ever been so imperiled by the threat of self annihilation.) But the collective will to realize this ideal is lacking. We have been trained to believe it is fantasy and few people are prepared to accept it as an imminent possibility ...

Science alone is powerless – a new spiritual awakening is necessary. Science now holds virtual immortality within its grasp. Those of us who grasp the significance of this fact must publicize it so that the idea of eternal life, eternal love, of heaven on earth can incubate and grow numinous within the collective imagination. The problem of the lack of unity of humanity and our failure to realize the pivotal role romantic love could play in enabling us to actualize this ideal must be addressed. Romantic love must no longer be minimized or dismissed as illusory. It is our greatest spiritual resource.The task of our spiritual leadership must be to do everything within its power to make eternal love the new social Imaginary, to promulgate the idea of a society without aging, without war, without death, the vision of a society in which romantic love not death has the last word."


Selected Works

Human Rights
"The psychiatric metanarrative about TIs is yet another example of the mental health professions’ historical subordination of the quest for truth to financial exigencies, and to their own social mandate to control and correct those who deviate from dominant social norms... "--Farber "We stand today on the tip of a revolution with the new knowledge of remote influencing technologies capable of manipulating the human body and human brain. ..Who will speak today on behalf of all humanity? Who will step forward to prosecute and terminate ALL non-consensual human experimentation ongoing today? "
e.g. Fiction, History, Magazine Articles, etc. goes here
This revolutionary book tells how the Mad Pride movement developed in the last ten years as the successor to the mental patients’ liberation movement. It includes a Foreword by Kate Millett and interviews with David Oaks, Sascha DuBrul (The Icarus Project), Dr Peter Stastny and Paul Levy, author of Wetiko. Drawing upon the work of theorists like Thomas Szasz, John Weir Perry and R.D. Laing Farber shows how the mad can embrace their “mad gifts” in order to help the long awaited global spiritual transition.
Nonfiction
A work in the tradition of Thomas Szasz, R.D. Laing, Michel Foucault and Erving Goffman, a challenge to the delusional belief-system known as psychiatry; and a protest against its appalling crimes. Foreword by Thomas Szasz
The contributors are among the leading American Jewish critics of Zionism and of Israel's policies towards the Palestinians: Noam Chomsky, Norman Finkelstein, Marc Ellis, Adam Shapiro, Phyllis Bennis, Rabbi Weiss and 6 others.
A critique of psychoanalysis and the medical model model of psychology as a form of secularized Augustinianism. Augustinianism, with its insistence on predestination and eternal damnation, was an inversion of the original Christian teaching of human freedom to respond to infinite grace and the promise of universal salvation.
"An important book."
--Thomas Szasz, M.D., Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, State University of New York Health Science Center; author of The Myth of Mental Illness
(Click on title above to read excerpt from book.)
Excerpt (slightly altered) from essay in Review of Existential Psychology and Psychiatry (2001, 25th Anniversary Issue) "Against Psychotherapy and Biological Psychiatry"
This is a modern Bildungsroman by a maverick psychologist who is determined to change the world, find his soul mate and prove the soteriological power of madness and of love. He is haunted by a vision–a archetypal memory–of our lost paradise Like the creative misfits and (official) lunatics he befriends, and the mad women with whom he falls in love in this bewitching book-- which is alternately funny, tragic, and intellectually provocative-- he is never fully at home here, except for the ephemeral times when he has found true love. Farber’s peak experiences and his reading of modern mystics like Sri Aurobindo and Vladimir Solovyov, and gerontologists (like Aubrey De Grey) convince him that humanity is destined to attain eternal love and physical immortality-- paradise. It is testimony to Farber’s power as a writer that he is able to make his unusual vision, incredible as it is, seem as if it is just within the reach of humanity.
Human Rights Movement
Network Against Coercive Psychiatry is an organization comprised of psychotherapists (including psychiatrists), survivors of psychiatric incarceration (commonly known as "mental patients"), scholars and other concerned citizens.

Phone contact

Find Authors